Rachel Makes ^ Poofy Ottoman Cube

A while back I got a request from some friends to make them one of those ottoman poufs. They weren’t finding anything they liked in the stores for a reasonable price and I decided to give it a go. My sewing skills are okay; they’d be a lot better if I sewed more often. Isn’t that the case with everything? “I’d be so good at [insert craft, trade, task, etc here] if I just did it more often.” Sigh…mediocrity with most, expertise with none.

finished pouf ^ brettandrachelplus

Photo courtesy of Ben Bylsma.

Basically it is a giant cube with a zipper on one of the seams. If you’re up to getting an idea of how I made it, read on, brave soul.

The first thing I did was to measure, cut and iron my pieces. I needed the pouf to be 2’x2′ in size, and I gave myself a 1/2 inch seam allowance on each, so I cut out 26 inch squares. Make yourself a good ol’ isosceles right triangle by folding your fabric over with sides a and b being equal length. (My engineering degree at work over here. Or maybe just high school geometry. Either way, a real world math application!) Cut along those sides and you’ve got yourself a square. Use that as the template for the others.

I had done zippers before, but it had been a while. All in all, it isn’t hard, just requires some planning. The tutorial I used I ended up not being a big fan of, but since I’m lazy, I didn’t want to rip out the seams and try again on the zipper. It turned out just fine, though, but I needed to have given myself a bigger seam allowance on the zipper. I didn’t catch the folded over fabric and had to sew it down separately in places.

After the zipper was in, I sewed the other two squares onto the ones with the zipper to make a cylinder.

Then I pinned and sewed the bottom square on and then the top. Make sure that you’ve unzipped at least part of the zipper so you can turn it right side out easily.

I’m pleased with how it turned out. It has been filled with beanbag stuffing and looks pretty nice. Since it will hold 8 cubic feet of material, you could even use it for storing stuff that could double as a filler. I fit a comforter and several pillows in it and still had a lot of room in it.

Leave a Reply

